Welcome to the Free Talk Live bulletin board system!
This board is closed to new users and new posts.  Thank you to all our great mods and users over the years.  Details here.
185859 Posts in 9829 Topics by 1371 Members
Latest Member: cjt26
Home Help
+  The Free Talk Live BBS
|-+  Free Talk Live
| |-+  The Show
| | |-+  Car registration
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Car registration  (Read 3712 times)

cheebah

• View Profile
Car registration
« on: October 29, 2011, 10:44:38 AM »

On the last show there was a lot of talk about car registration. Well I have 3 vehicles, only one of which is registered. I had been driving with none of my vehicles registered for over 2 years without a single incident of state intervention. I had finally been pulled over about 2 months ago and the police offer was kind enough to let me go with a warning but put me in the system and said I would be ticketed if I did not register my vehicle. Unfortunately I am in a position (the military) where I have to obey the law so I did register my daily driver. Now this brings me to my point. When the officer pulled me over he needed to find out if I indeed own my vehicle so he had to run my VIN number, which on most vehicles is riveted to the dash. It took him about 2 minutes and of course it came back in my name and he let me go. This made me very angry. If it can be proven with the VIN number that I own the vehicle why do I need to register my vehicle? Why instead of a license plate can I not just display my VIN number? I already have to pay well over $100 for a title transfer and apparently this title is more than enough proof of my ownership of the vehicle. It is simply extortion to force me to "register" my vehicle when titling my vehicle is in fact all the "registration" I need!!!!!!

LTKoblinsky

• View Profile
Re: Car registration
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2011, 12:08:54 AM »

I just moved to NH and my tags are good until April. Can I put off registering until then?