Welcome to the Free Talk Live bulletin board system!
This board is closed to new users and new posts.  Thank you to all our great mods and users over the years.  Details here.
185859 Posts in 9829 Topics by 1371 Members
Latest Member: cjt26
Home Help
+  The Free Talk Live BBS
|-+  Free Talk Live
| |-+  Serious Business
| | |-+  moral dilemma
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: moral dilemma  (Read 12144 times)

Brandon

• View Profile
moral dilemma
« on: December 16, 2011, 05:38:07 PM »

I'm a freshman in college and my major is criminal justice. Part of my reasoning was that police officers would be more willing to listen to a libertarian if it was another police officer and that it would help having more officers supporting marijuana bills. But I'm having serious doubts if I can arrest some people. I'm thinking about changing my major but I wanted to get the opinions of some other people. Is this a good or bad idea? Would having a libertarian police officer help at all?

Diogenes The Cynic

• Cynic. Pessimist. Skeptic. Jerk.
    • View Profile
Re: moral dilemma
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2011, 05:47:04 PM »

The fairest answer I could give you is that after lurking on some police forums, they really do support the laws they have to uphold unconditionally. They buy into the slippery slope fallacy that all laws must be upheld, and the ones that don't, the minority, know that if they didn't, their job security would go down.

Now, in your life experience, how many times were you able to change a system from the inside?
I am looking for an honest man. -Diogenes The Cynic

Dude, I thought you were a spambot for like a week. You posted like a spambot. You failed the Turing test.

-Dennis Goddard

alaric89

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2011, 05:59:25 PM »

I could do it. I don't think I could have at 18 though. Needs a lot of experience to really see right and wrong, push the right buttens, and live to tell about it.