Welcome to the Free Talk Live bulletin board system!
This board is closed to new users and new posts.  Thank you to all our great mods and users over the years.  Details here.
185859 Posts in 9829 Topics by 1371 Members
Latest Member: cjt26
Home Help
+  The Free Talk Live BBS
|-+  Free Talk Live
| |-+  Guns, Drugs, and Crazy Independence Stuff
| | |-+  Mad Max / Off the Grid tips n' tricks
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 17   Go Down

Author Topic: Mad Max / Off the Grid tips n' tricks  (Read 91303 times)

Turd Ferguson

• Opportunist Extraordinaire
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • https://twitter.com/#!/realmikequick
Re: Mad Max / Off the Grid tips n' tricks
« Reply #165 on: May 20, 2011, 05:31:25 PM »

I was thinking about a shipping container home. Some are pretty cool. I have a friend that is a master welder and he can do amazing shit with metal and we have a good source of cheap shipping containers from ADM.... next to nothing on the cost. Pretty much, you just weld them together in the pattern you want your house to look like, then you finish the insides with drywall and wood floors or whatever, and spray on stucco on the outside, or wood panel if thats your thing. I'm seriously considering building one of these if I can get off my ass and get motivated. It would definitely be for the off-grid purpose, way in the boonies if I did it.

Hardest part around here is getting the cheap wooded property you'd wanna build it on.

Some peoples idea of hell is having to mind their own business.

alaric89

• View Profile
« Reply #166 on: May 21, 2011, 02:09:40 PM »

That is pretty cool. Just think how cool and cheap and good houses could be without zoning laws and building codes. If you want to be innovative you have to live out in the boonies where no one sees you.

Bill Brasky

« Reply #167 on: May 21, 2011, 11:31:03 PM »

For me, being off grid means a variety of things.  I usually think in woodsy terms.  But you could really be anywhere.