Welcome to the Free Talk Live bulletin board system!
This board is closed to new users and new posts.  Thank you to all our great mods and users over the years.  Details here.
185859 Posts in 9829 Topics by 1371 Members
Latest Member: cjt26
Home Help
+  The Free Talk Live BBS
|-+  Free Talk Live
| |-+  General
| | |-+  ubuntu virgin needs help
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ubuntu virgin needs help  (Read 1375 times)

LTKoblinsky

• View Profile
ubuntu virgin needs help
« on: September 05, 2010, 10:12:58 PM »

Hello BBS,
I am an Ubuntu rookie. I just installed said OS on my laptop today. I know nothing about root users, terminals, or other such jargon. When I use Windows, it extracts everything for me and files it away neat and hidden until I need it. With Ubuntu, I need Java. I have no idea how to get the Firefox plugin for Java, as no Java files work their magic for me. I need help, a walkthrough, you could say. So please and thank you.
2LTK

My wife's new site. Covers fashion, motherhood, our journey to NH, and soon activism.

voodoo

• FTL AMPlifier Platinum
    • View Profile
Re: ubuntu virgin needs help
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 03:48:41 AM »

This is not meant to be snarky at all, so please don't take it that way.  The Ubuntu forums are chock full of great advice and how-tos.  It's also fully indexed by Google, so searching on Ubuntu +anything is very handy.

To your question, the easiest is System => System Tools => Package Manager and search for "flash".  You should see "flashplugin-nonfree" and "adobe-flashplugin".  Uncheck "flashplugin-nonfree" if it's checked and check "adobe-flashplugin".  Then select "apply".

"It is error alone which needs the support of government. Truth can stand by itself."  ~ Thomas Jefferson: Notes on Virginia Q.XVII, 1782. ME 2:222

TimeLady Victorious

• Aprilicious
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 07:05:33 AM »