Welcome to the Free Talk Live bulletin board system!
This board is closed to new users and new posts.  Thank you to all our great mods and users over the years.  Details here.
185859 Posts in 9829 Topics by 1371 Members
Latest Member: cjt26
Home Help
+  The Free Talk Live BBS
|-+  Free Talk Live
| |-+  General
| | |-+  Some questions from someone new to FTL
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Some questions from someone new to FTL  (Read 2672 times)

dysurian

Some questions from someone new to FTL
« on: April 10, 2007, 09:18:01 PM »

I'm new to Free Talk Live, and to the liberty movement in general (thought I've been liberty-minded for a few years without really thinking of it as an encompassing philosophy). I find that I agree with a high percentage of the ideas put forth in the show, but have a few questions about libertarianism that I thought I would put out on the forums instead of bothering the show with it, since they have probably covered it on-air. I'm looking for some better points to make when I'm talking liberty to my friends and co-workers. It's in your hands.

1) With a metal-backed currency - If we switched to a metal-backed currency, am I right in assuming that mining would become the most profitable line of business? If we switched, wouldn't people mine the crap out of the available gold/silver and drive down the value of money, and crash the value of currency? I know that mining the metal would get to the point where it wasn't profitable enough, and the market would work itself out in that way, but the initial rush could be a big problem. Would this be taken care of by just slowly switching to metal-backed currency or some other way?