Welcome to the Free Talk Live bulletin board system!
This board is closed to new users and new posts.  Thank you to all our great mods and users over the years.  Details here.
185859 Posts in 9829 Topics by 1371 Members
Latest Member: cjt26
Home Help
+  The Free Talk Live BBS
|-+  Free Talk Live
| |-+  General
| | |-+  Public Property
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Public Property  (Read 5623 times)

addictedkoala

Public Property
« on: December 08, 2009, 10:14:29 PM »

I'm relatively new to the liberty movement, so take this simply as a question, not an attack

When it comes to public property Libertarians generally agree that it's bad and I would agree, however the thought occured to me of how we would get this to work. Specifically in regards to people in poverty. If I'm too poor (assume it's not because I'm incredibly lazy) to afford the price to go on a road, how would I get anywhere. As soon as I stepped off my land I could be charged/arrested/in trouble/etc for trespassing couldn't I? It just seems extremely restrictive for what's called the freaking liberty movement. I'm sure there's a simple explanation I'm missing.

Diogenes The Cynic

• Cynic. Pessimist. Skeptic. Jerk.
    • View Profile
Re: Public Property
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2009, 11:04:09 PM »

I am a libertarian, and I don't hold myself to any "party line". You don't have to conform to anyone elses political platform. So the positions that I hold are ones that I think are correct, and that I can defend because I agree with them.

That said, I think private ownership of most roads and sidewalks is inevitable. Sure you can have situations where HOA's control major sections of neighborhoods like the way it is in Irvine, CA, but for existing communities, it would be difficult to regress into private ownership of all land. For most situations, you will probably have a community NGO that runs local roads, and highways and freeways as toll roads.