Welcome to the Free Talk Live bulletin board system!
This board is closed to new users and new posts.  Thank you to all our great mods and users over the years.  Details here.
185859 Posts in 9829 Topics by 1371 Members
Latest Member: cjt26
Home Help
+  The Free Talk Live BBS
|-+  Free Talk Live
| |-+  General
| | |-+  Libertarian in NH's Gubernatorial Election 2010?
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Libertarian in NH's Gubernatorial Election 2010?  (Read 890 times)

AL the Inconspicuous

Libertarian in NH's Gubernatorial Election 2010?
« on: December 27, 2009, 03:10:12 PM »

By Thom S on the Free State Project forum -- Contemplating a run for Governor... --

Dear Fellow Liberty-lovers,

I am asking for your measured, sober thoughts on the 2010 election.  As you may have gathered, I am seriously considering a run for Governor as the Libertarian Party candidate in 2010.

I am an Economist and have been an Educator (at Greenfield Community College in Greenfield MA, and Keene State College in Keene, NH) since 1998.  As my blog ("Tully's Page," at http://www.tullyspage.blogspot.com) states, I am tired of liberal hands in my wallet and conservative noses in my bedroom.  While my background is that of a Republican campaign operative (having appeared on ABC's "Good Morning America" on behalf of Ronald Reagan as long ago as 1980), I am as equally opposed to the theocratic right as to the collective left. We should not  be a footnoted brand of conservatism.  I believe in a Libertarian Party that is competitive, freedom-oriented, and above all, Pragmatic.  I *do* believe in incremental steps towards liberty, and believe in victories more than purity.  I will be very frank about that with you all.

The Democratic regime has attempted to portray itself as "Centrist," and yet, their version of 'centrist" is akin to having one hand in boiling water and the other frozen in ice:  it may be an 'average' of tepid, but damage is occurring at both ends.