Welcome to the Free Talk Live bulletin board system!
This board is closed to new users and new posts.  Thank you to all our great mods and users over the years.  Details here.
185859 Posts in 9829 Topics by 1371 Members
Latest Member: cjt26
Home Help
+  The Free Talk Live BBS
|-+  Free Talk Live
| |-+  General
| | |-+  A personal intellectual property problem
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: A personal intellectual property problem  (Read 3577 times)

YixilTesiphon

• FTL AMPlifier Silver
    • View Profile
A personal intellectual property problem
« on: July 14, 2010, 10:18:53 AM »

So, last night, I couldn't sleep for shit, so I sketched up an idea I had that I believe could result in an elegant solution to some problems with solar energy. Whatever. Problem is, I'm a grad student at Rice University, which has the following rule:
In line with federal regulations and Rice’s IP Policy, new inventions must be disclosed to the Office of Technology Transfer for review. If you are unsure that your idea qualifies as an invention or want more information on how to decide when to disclose, you may request an evaluation by emailing our office at (email).

Said Office of Technology Transfer then markets any ideas I might come up with to industry, and hopefully I get a cut if it works out. I'm forbidden from taking this idea to market myself, and I'm also forbidden from deciding not to patent it and try to make money by putting it out there first. So, is there no libertarian way out of this situation?
And their kids were hippie chicks - all hypocrites.

ForumTroll

Re: A personal intellectual property problem
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2010, 10:27:04 AM »

I think this means inventions created using the school's equipment/resources/money/property. Not for any old thought in your head.

YixilTesiphon

• FTL AMPlifier Silver
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2010, 10:31:25 AM »